BOOK REVIEW- Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time

Scrum-Art of Doing HalfDAN’S SCORE: Stars 5.2
Scrum: The Art of Doing Twice the Work in Half the Time
by Jeff Sutherland


This book was recommended to the graduating CSM class of April 2015 by Jim Smith, our instructor. I went out and immediately picked up an audio copy so I could listen to it during my long car rides. I am so glad I did. This book is top notch and has made the rounds with the scrum masters in my company.

Sutherland is the creator of scrum and an original signer of the Agile Manifesto (we’re not worthy!). One thing I really like about this book is that Sutherland is a great story teller. The book is full of stories such as the FBI’s Sentinel Project, the master aviation strategist John Boyd, and Sutherland’s own experiences as a fighter pilot in Vietnam. He weaves these stories into how the concepts of scrum was created as well as the best practices for Scrum and being Agile in general.

This man gave you Scrum. Know the face!

This man gave you Scrum. Know the face!

The book has a ton of stuff: the scrum framework, roles, best practices (for teams and business), and the psychology of people to name a few. A couple of my favorite sections was his counsel on the pitfalls of multi-tasking and working people overtime and the importance of finding joy in your work to maximize success. Its all good stuff! Go pick it up!

Sutherland has become my go-to guy for learning the scrum framework. I often take a look at his videos to better understand concepts. I’m certain this won’t be my last post on him.

One comment

Leave a Reply

